Euro-International Systemic Functional Workshop EUROPEAN NETWORK PLANNING MEETING

Friday 26th July 2002, 6.00 p.m., Lisbon

Convened by Geoff Thompson (Liverpool, Chair of E-ISFW Steering Committee).

1 The main purpose of the meeting was to discuss whether the E-ISFW Steering Committee should be reconstituted as a formal committee.

At present, the Steering Committee oversees the organisation of the Euro-International Workshops, and has the remit of:

- * identifying possible locations for future Workshops and contacting local academics to invite them to organise a Workshop
- * offering advice and guidance for local Organisers, particularly through ensuring contact with Organisers of previous Workshops
- * in its guise as the 'International Committee', lending gravitas to the process of organising Workshops, particularly in the eyes of host institutions

This is done on an informal basis: the Committee has no formal status, and therefore cannot, for example, hold funds.

The discussion was prompted particularly by the fact that no location had been found for the 2003 Workshop until just before the Lisbon meeting; and it was felt that the informal nature of the procedures made it more difficult to ensure effective forward planning. In addition, the lack of funding as a safety net if a Workshop made a loss was potentially problematic.

After extensive discussion of the advantages and disadvantages of formal vs. informal constitution, it was unanimously agreed that the present arrangement should continue for a further three years, and that the position should then be reconsidered.

Robin Fawcett (Cardiff), as European Treasurer, undertook to check with the International Systemic Functional Linguistics Association the possibility of using Association European funds as a safety net if necessary.

- It was confirmed that Bethan Davies (Leeds) has agreed to host the 2003 Workshop. The 2004 Workshop will be held in either Valencia (Antonia Sánchez) or Madrid (Rachel Whittaker) the two representatives of the institutions will agree on the site between them. Jennifer Herriman (Göteborg) and Brian Donovan (Dublin) have both undertaken to investigate the possibility of hosting a later Workshop.
- It was agreed that the Steering Committee should consist of a core of 5 members to serve for three years, together with the organiser of the most recent and the forthcoming Workshop. It was further agreed that the Committee should choose 3 of their members to share particular responsibility for ensuring that institutions willing to host a Workshop are identified at least two years ahead. The following representatives were proposed and agreed unanimously:

David Banks (Brest)

Antonia Sánchez Macarro (Valencia)

Erich Steiner (Saarbrücken)

Geoff Thompson (Liverpool)

Eija Ventola (Salzburg)

The following Workshop organisers are also ex officio members of the Committee:

Bethan Davies (Leeds)

Carlos Gouveia (Lisbon)

Geoff Thompson agreed to continue as Chair.

4 The meeting closed at 7.00 p.m.